Board of Directors Image

Board of Directors

BUILD is fortunate to have a Board of Directors that not only bears the ultimate responsibility for setting policy and holding fiduciary responsibility for the agency, but does so out of deep commitment to the mission, values and vision of the agency. BUILD staff is grateful for their leadership and their investment of time, expertise and resources.

Board of Directors


Howard "Bud" SchwarzbachVin Chicago



Christine Bakalar - BakHome Development, LLC.

John G. Kaphusman - Gaming & Entertainment Management -

Illinois LLC

Siobhan SandersNuveen Investments



John A. NitschkeDr. Scholl Foundation



Steven Abbey - Heaslet Associations/First Merit Bank

John Blackburn - Standard Bank & Trust Company

Malaika K. Caldwell - Ice Miller LLP 

Theodore Cappelen - Clear Candle

Marlow ColvinComEd

Bennie Currie - Financial Services Professional: New York Life Insurance

Tom DeckerMB Financial

Robert J. EmanuelLatimer LeVay Fyock

Peter HenleyPricewaterhouseCoopers, LLP

William Housey, Jr. - First Trust Portfolios, 

Jin IvacicTakeda Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd.

Steven Laduzinsky - Laduzinsky & Associates, P.C.

Scott Lieber - Willis of Illinois

Stephen Miles -Livingstone Partners

Paulo Oliveira - Caterpillar, Inc.

James Ramos - City Colleges of Chicago

Robert Satawake - Jameson Sotheby's International Realty

William A. Schwers - Peoples Home Equity, Inc.

Jack Segal - Comcast Corporation

Shruti Sekhri - Slalom Consulting

Patricia Spratt - Cook County Circuit Court Judge

Albert J. Travis - Albert J. Travis & Associates

Mark Wojcik - PSAV


Executive Director

Adam M. Alonso, MSW