Our People

People are the Difference

At BUILD, people matter. Young people learn to shape the future, based on their dreams, not their obstacles. They are guided by hard-working adults whose life experiences sound familiar, because 87% of BUILD’s staff reflects the communities and cultures of our youth. We set the bar high and lead by example, putting our values of respect, collaboration, and open communication into everything we do.

Empathy .  Passion .  Persistence .  Innovation.

Meet our experienced leadership team.

Draper, Monique ID picture

Finance & Administration

Lisa Salas - Executive Assistant

Quentin McGee - Senior Accountant

Eduardo Aguayo-MarquezFiscal Manager 

Maria TorresFiscal Coordinator 

Carmen Bermudez - Finance Clerk A/P

Human Resources

Nancy Monahan - Director of Human Resources

Theresa Hurt - Human Resources Generalist

Oscar Xuarez - Human Resources Generalist

Development & Communications

Stephanie ArevaloManager of Special Events

Natalia Delery- Manager of Foundation & Corporate Relations

Emily Muench - Senior Manager of Foundation & Corporate Relations

Daniel Perez - Manager of Communications & Media


Kathy Kloppenburg - Director of Operations

Compliance Services

Dave Koch - Director of Monitoring, Evaluation & Learning 

Nina Rickett-Green -  Learning Coordinator

Charles Allen - Intake Coordinator

Health and Wellness

Jessica Carrillo - Director of Clinical & Community Wellness Programs

Amanda Cimaroli - Mobile Mental Health Program Manager

Durrell Sheppard - Manager of Clinical Services

Nichole Lamorgese - Manager of Community Support Services (CSS)

Khaliah Marsh - Manager of BUILDing Girls 2 Women


Community Services

Martin Anguiano - Director of Community Engagement

Alden Bell - Manager of Community Engagement

Edwina Hamilton - Manager of Restorative Justice Practices

Core Programs

Jamey Makowski - Director of Education and Prevention

Intervention Services

Jose Pizarro - Director of Intervention 

Angella Roberts-Smith - School Intervention Manager 

Jonathan OlivanIntervention Manager

Crisis Response

Rosa Rios - Manager of Crisis Response Unit

Prevention Services

Kreagan Carbone - Prevention Manager

Andrew Calderon - Site Coordinator / Erie Elementary

Arianna Domengieaux - Site Coordinator / Ericson Elementary

Adolfo Tolayo - Site Coordinator

Grena Pryor - Resource Coordinator

Education Services

Ebonee Porche Manager of Education Services

Anita Green - Education Outreach Specialist

Stephanii Holloway -  SEL Coordinator

Dumanisha Ward -  Education Outreach Specialist


Enrichment Services

Carmen Scott-Boria - Director of Enrichment Services

Ricardo Miranda - Manager of Arts Academy Programs

Mark Thorton - Manager of Sports Programs

Deonna Hart Manager of Learning and Leadership

Board of Directors


Siobhan L. Sanders - Nuveen Investments



Christine Bakalar - BakHome Development, LLC.


Shruti Sekhri - Slalom Consulting


John A. Nitschke - Dr. Scholl Foundation



Priya Aggarwal - PricewaterhouseCoopers, LLP

Maretta Brown-Miller - Chicago Park District

Dale Cabreira - Finance

Malaika K. Caldwell - Kyndryl, Inc.

Shannel Clubb - RSM

Bennie Currie -  MBC Financial Strategies

Matt Fisher - 4th Right Partners

D. Nigel Green - Noble Network of Charter Schools

César Guerra - Aon

Brittany Hughes - MB Financial Bank

Jin Ivacic - Hyatt Corporation

Amy KadensFounder, Share our Spare

Stephen Miles - Livingstone Partners LLC

Arthur "AJ" Mortega - Zynga Inc.

Christopher J. Moskos - Bank of America

Christopher Olson - JPMorgan Chase

James Ramos - City of Chicago, 21st Ward

Raymond Rushing - Cummins Inc.

Howard 'Bud' Schwarzbach - Vin Chicago

Jack Segal - Comcast Corporation

Scott Skie Baird

Patricia S. Spratt Circuit Court of Cook County

Leila Whitley - Allstate

John Wilson - HSA PrimeCare

Jeanne Wrenn - Circuit Court of Cook County


Steven Abbey - Huntington National Bank

Theodore Cappelen - Clear Candle

Donna Dudley - Retired Distinguished Volunteer 

Al Travis - Al Travis & Associates


John Blackburn Standard Bank & Trust Company

Pete Henley - PricewaterhouseCoopers, LLP

William Housey, Jr. - First Trust Portfolios, 




Caroline Rushmore - LinkedIn



Lewis Johnson - Starbucks

Marco Guerrero - BUILD, Inc.

Michael Perich Westfleet Advisors

Casey Schelble JPMorgan Chase



Aaron Miller - Garrick Film

Victoria Sorkin - GCM Grosvenor

Dominique Curtis - Willis Tower Watson

Donald Harris - Fifth Third Bank

Gina Sewell - Point B

Cheryll Victuelles - Kirkland & Ellis LLP

Adrian Levitt - Kearney

Matt Currier - Private Vista LLC

Ashley Perich - CNO Financial Group

Audrey Griffith - Chicago Public Schools

Timothy Turner - Walgreens

Kevin Weingarz - Walgreens

Amanda Moutrage - Zeal Global Inc.

Jessie Gotsdiner - MAPSCorps

Benjy Wax - L37 Creative, LLC


As a pioneering agency in street intervention services with a half century of experience, our voice is integral to discussions about gang intervention, prevention, education, and juvenile justice issues impacting the city of Chicago and beyond. Please look at us a resource and utilize the contact below for additional story angles, sources, etc.

Help BUILD the Future!

BUILD’s volunteers are the supportive part of the “village” needed to keep youth safe and allow them to transition from the margins to the mainstream in our city and beyond.